Episode

5/16 Kimberly Phillips-Fein: Fear City: New York’s Fiscal Crisis and the Rise of Austerity Politics

May 16, 2017

Kimberley Phillips-Fein, a Professor of Individualized Study at the Gallatin School of Individualized Study at New York University and author of Fear City: New York’s Fiscal Crisis and the Rise of Austerity Politics, explains when New York City was a middle class city and the City of New York system. The rise of New York’s public sector and the political movements of the sixties. When the stock exchange considered leaving New York. Borrowing and austerity. Allen Greenspan, Donald Rumsfeld and Donald Trump and the destruction of New York. New York’s bankruptcy and the shock doctrine across public services. Why New York is now plutocrat paradise and why austerity and destroying public value is an anti democratic policy choice.

On The Fun Half: General McMaster, spins for Trump on sharing classified with Russia. Joe and Mika call out “conservative hucksters”. Oprah gives Ivanka Trump a pr opportunity. Mike Huckabee goes crazy with some bad music in the background. Donald Trump reveals once again that he is a massive sociopath. Random Rush. Dave Rubin is very stupid and your calls and IMs.

Cast: Sam Seder @samseder, Michael Brooks @_michaelbrooks, Matt Lech, @mattlech and Kelly Carey, @kellycarey. 

Check out today’s sponsor: https://casper.com. Get $50 toward any mattress purchase by visiting www.casper.com/majority and using offer code MAJORITY

Past Episodes

Sam hosts Alex Sammon (@alex_sammon), staff writer at the American Prospect, to discuss California's Prop 22 and how tech companies are working overtime to set labor laws back decades for non-white working-class people. On today's show: Trump rambles about MAGA and a recovering economy over ...
Sam breaks down last night's debate and the election homestretch with Ryan Grim (@ryangrim) of the Intercept and host of the Deconstructed podcast, and Tim Heidecker (@timheidecker) joins Sam to discuss his new YouTube comedy special. Sam also interviews filmmakers Lucas Sabean and Peter Hutch ...
Sam hosts Daniel Nichanian (@Taniel), Founder and Editorial Director of The Appeal: Political Report, to discuss his What's on the Ballot? project and the local and state criminal justice votes that could shape the future of immigration enforcement and policing. On today's show: Chuck ...